Celiac Disease

,a href=”http://www.mb103.com/lnk.asp?o=11322&c=113265&a=254614&l=11443″>

Celiac Disease is a digestive disorder found in patients who are susceptible, with the resultant damage to the small intestine by an interference with the absorption of nutrients. The main culprit with Celiac Disease is a protein called Gluten.

These proteins are found in all forms of main stream and non-mainstream wheat products.

Such as durum semolina, spelt, einkorn, kamut and related grains such as rye, barley, and oats. Damage to the mucus on the surface of the small intestine is caused by a toxic reaction to the ingestion of gluten.

Effects Of

With Celiac Disease the villi, which are the tiny hair-like projections in the small intestine, shrink and eventually disappear. This is the devastating reaction to Celiac Disease. Damaged villi interferees with the body's ability to absorb nutrients such as carbohydrates, proteins, fats, vitamins, and even possibly water and bile salts. If left untreated, damage to the small bowel can be life threatening, posing an increased risk of many disorders.

If Left Untreated

Iron deficiency, Anemia, Vitamin K deficiency, Vitamin deficiencies such as folate, B12, B6, or iron deficiency, and other mineral deficiencies, Other food sensitivities.

Symptoms May Include

Abdominal cramping, gas, and bloating.Diarrhea or constipation.
Fluctuation of weight (loss or gain), fatigue, weakness, lack of energy, and all thats associated with with lack of energy.

Possible Treatment

There is no treatment or cure for Celiac Disease.Except for a lifelong adherence to
a strict gluten-free diet. When gluten is removed from the diet, the small intestine will begin to heal and general health will be improved.You may want to consider supplementation for any
misconcies.Consult your doctor about this.

Lifestyle changes are in order for the Celiac sufferer.Become a label reader. If you are unsure about a certain food or ingredient, stay away and learn to identify ingredients that may contain that hidden gluten. Be very diligent

Be aware that hidden gluten can be hiding in some illegally foods such as low or non-fat products, deli meats, soups, hard candies, soy sauce, even salad dressings. If there is no
label to read such as candy in a dish, stay away, again be very diligent.

Gluten may also be used as a binder in prescription medications.Again ask youre doctor about Gluten in medications.

Alcohol that's properly distilled should not contain any harmful gluten. Research indicates that the peptide is too large to carry over in the distillation process. Beer is a definite no-no.
You might want to consider staying away from alcohol altogether (like the author of this site). This might seem drastic to some but our health is at stake. Wine from the Liquor store
may bother youre stomach, like it does mine possibly because of Sulfites as preserative to give it a longer shelf life. Home made Wine wthout any added ingredients in moderation looks to be OK

Sometimes Gluten products are added to alcohols and Vinegars after the distilling process
and should be avoided interely. Malt vinegars are not distilled and therefore are not gluten-free. This in a nutshell is what Celiac Disease is. I might have left out some details, I'm not a
doctor. But, I am a Celiac sufferer and I know what Celiac's go through.



Source by Andy Casasanta

caretaker

Leave a Reply