If you can not tolerate gluten in your diet because you are allergic to it or you are suffering from celiac disease, you can actually find healthy foods without gluten that you can enjoy. Of course, away from knowing what foods have gluten and should be avoided, you may want to find out what are the safe foods you can eat.
Celiac disease is a disease of the digestive system where the villi of the intestines are damaged and absorption of nutrients from the food is made impossible. With this, the sufferer becomes malnourished even if how much food one would eat. People who have this disease do not tolerate gluten, a protein found in wheat, barley and rye, as this can damage the villi and will hinder proper absorption of nutrients.
If you are looking for foods without gluten to start your gluten-free diet, start first with foods not having wheat, rye and barley, so you may want to stay away from bread, bread rolls, cookies, biscuits, cakes, as well as those gravies, soups and sauces that use wheat as thickener.
Foods without gluten that can be safely included in your diet can include fresh meat and fish, vegetables and fruits, herbs, fried fruits, honey, cheese, fruit juice. You can also drink beer but those that are gluten-free. Corn tacos or tortillas are also safe. Popcorn is also free from gluten but you have to check however for any coatings that may contain gluten.
Although in some countries labeling foods with 'gluten-free' is mandated, it is also important that you check the product a little further. It may not contain gluten in its ingredients but make sure the preparation of the food does not contain any gluten like the fillers and binders and the preparation is not contaminated with gluten. To help you with this, you may need to research further on the specific brands or foods that is safe for those suffering celiac disease or get help from a nutritionist or dietician to guide you. Finding foods without gluten is also beneficial for those who are allergic to it.
It is also wise to check the labels of foods before buying them. It can be tricky that foods that you may think are free from wheat or gluten may actually have an ingredient that contain this protein, so it is important to read labels and be aware on where you can find gluten.
Keep in mind that gluten may be 'hidden' in some foods such as luncheon meats having fillers that may contain gluten. Soups that may contain flour, meat and fish pastes that may contain flour as thickeners, and in some brands of chocolates.
Gluten is not just limited to foods. You can also find them in beverages and drinks, so also try to check and avoid beverages especially those with malt. You can also find this protein in cosmetics such as lipsticks, lip gloss, lip balms and may be present in some toothpastes as well.
Start with these lists of foods without gluten but find more detailed guide to a healthier and nutritious food that you can include in your diet.